A Public Hearing on the Confirmation of Ernest Chrappah is Set for Thursday at 11 AM. Public Comment is Open Until 9/28

by Sean Riley

A public hearing on the confirmation of interim DCTC chairman Ernest Chrappah is scheduled for this Thursday at 11 AM at the D.C. City Council Committee on the Transportation and the Environment. (Room 120 of the John A. Wilson Building at 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW). The Council will take public comment on Chrappah and  then it is anticipated that the Council will decide on whether to approve the chairman by mid October. 

The notice states that the public is invited to testify or to submit written testimony to object, which will be made a part of the official Hearing Record. Anyone wishing to testify should contact Ms. Aukima Benjamin, staff assistant to the Committee on Transportation and the Environment, at (202) 724-8062 or via e-mail at abenjamin@dccouncil.us. Witnesses should bring 5 copies of their written testimony and should submit a copy of their testimony electronically to abenjamin@dccouncil.us.

If you cannot attend the public may still submit written testimony or comments until September 28, 2015.  Such testimony will become part of the public record and apparently be considered by the Council to make their decision.  Copies of written statements should be submitted to Ms. Aukima Benjamin, staff assistant to the Committee on Transportation and the Environment, John A. Wilson Building, 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 108, Washington, D.C. 20004. They may also be e-mailed to abenjamin@dccouncil.us or faxed to (202) 724-8118. The record will close at the end of the business day on Monday, September 28, 2015.

The Committee on the Transportation and the Environment is responsible for matters relating to environmental protection regulation and policies; highways, bridges, traffic, vehicles, and other transportation issues; the regulation of taxicabs; maintenance of public spaces; recycling; waste management; water supply and wastewater treatment; and maintenance of public spaces and public parks and recreation. It is composed of the following council members: